Writing about Writing! Writingception…

I thought about what I really wanted to write about. I mean, doing something every day is actually quite a feat, especially for someone like me (someone with no perseverance, nor any proficiency for hitting deadlines) and I need to find an interesting topic for every day! That’s something that won’t be easy! I do nothing, I have pretty much no social life, nor any money, I won’t really have anything to talk about if we’re thinking about my life in general, so I’ll need to think up different things.
I was thinking earlier and I thought that to start off, maybe I should write about writing! Writing is my passion, my love, something I have been doing for over 10 years already and something that I can find a lot to say about. Specifically, what started me writing, what I like writing and what I like reading, things like that. And maybe any problems or walls that I’ve come up against with my writing. I feel like this would be a good way to start off the proper blog posts, as it’s really something that I’m passionate about, and won’t end up as just a long rant – if I ever write a post about the UK education system, you will see what I mean!

So I can’t quite remember how I really started writing. There was no snap. I mean, my Mum has told me that in a way I actually learnt to write before I learnt to read! I’m not quite sure how that works, but I’m still proud of the fact! I’ve been writing stories ever since I was tiny, I learnt to read and write before I went to school, so it must have been when I was about 3 or 4 when I started writing, then more when I was in Year 2 when I really started writing stories (I would have been 6 or 7) I remember having my story read out in an assembly once when I was in Year 2, and I was so proud of it! According to my Mum it was full of double adjectives but I don’t care, I really count that as my first piece of writing, and I will always be proud of it. I’ve never reading or writing, and I hope that I never will. I makes me so happy, and I never want to lose that joy that it gives me. I will get something published, at some point in my life, I don’t care what it takes.

My preferences with writing chop and change very frequently. I get into ‘moods’ where I only really want to write one thing. If I read Lord of the Rings then I’ll want to write high fantasy, if I read The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy then I’ll want to write quirky sci-fi… It’s an awful trait to have where I just want to copy whatever I read last. It’s like those people where their opinion is that of the last person to whom they last spoke – I’m horribly like that in a writing way. It’s something of which I’m trying to get out, but I can only write well if I am enjoying what I’m writing, and I feel like I haven’t quite found that genre yet, I haven’t found my style. I think that I just need to keep writing and keep reading, but it can be very frustrating… On that note, the Lord of the Rings films (I haven’t the mindset to read the books just yet) and the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy are two of my favourite story concepts. I love them both to bits, I love sci-fi and fantasy, and I used to write a lot of dark fantasy, especially when Twilight first came out. I have actually written some things where I will look at them now and go ‘that’s disgusting. Why did I write that? What on Earth was going through my head when I decided to write that?’ because they have been so dark and horrid, even. Done well, dark fantasy can be incredibly entertaining – done by me, it can be incredibly disgusting and make me feel appalled with myself. I’ve matured a bit in my tastes and don’t really enjoy writing things like that anymore. It’s too horrible.

I’ve only recently started writing poetry, but it has been something that has really helped me mature in my writing style. I never finish things. This is one thing about me, I never finish things. I used to be awful at getting things finished and done, and I have a million and one unfinished stories saved on my laptop for a rainy day. Poetry was so short and concise, written a lot of the time with more brevity than I’d come across in writing before, that it actually let me finish things. Poems can be incredibly short, so I’ve managed to finish over 20 poems now since I started writing them. That’s probably more stories than I’ve finished in my whole writing career, by a long way. And I’m not joking. I really enjoy poetry now, it’s something that I can really get into, especially poems about nature. I really relate to the beauty of nature, I have a little passion for photography and I love the description, when done well, and I just love everything about the beauty of our world. I’m in the middle of writing a poem about thunderstorms, and I’m falling in love with it bit by bit. I love poems about nature.

That’s all I’ll go into right now, the post is getting a bit long for my liking (which is always a good problem to have!)
I’d like them all to be about a thousand words, but if the topic really gets me pumped then, however long is good!

I hope you enjoyed this first post (it’s my first proper post, anyway) and have a really good day (it’s like 7:45pm where I am so there’s not much day left!!). And ignore the giant rhinoceros hiding in your wardrobe, if you feed him marzipan I’m sure he won’t start to eat your clothing.

Calvin-and-Hobbes-on-writing-writing-25906604-2000-2500

About pasameerday

I haven't got a lot of time to keep you interested, so I'll be quick. I'm a writer from the UK, primarily of fantasy and sci-fi short stories, and occasionally of strange, nonsensical poetry. I like cats, the Sims, and pizza, and I go to sleep to the sound of a keyboard. I've been writing for my entire life; to be honest, I don't think I could ever bring myself to stop. I have a feeling I'm losing you, so I'll bring this to an end before you slowly start to back up, hoping I'll stop talking long enough for you to make a quick getaway. Wait... Where are you going? Hey! Wait! ... Stop!!
This entry was posted in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Give me your Thoughts!

