A Thought on Haiku

A thought on haiku

I quite like to write them but

I’m not very good!

Haiku are really lovely poems to write

My favourite form of poetry to write is free verse, to read – probably triolet (look it up if you aren’t familiar with the style, it reads wonderfully, but is terribly difficult to write well. That’s why I cheat and write free verse!). Despite it not being in my favourites, you need to be very good at writing poems with brevity to be able to write good haiku.

Good ones are great, but if you don’t get it quite right it can really affect the piece in general. Especially since they’re so short, so one part which isn’t as good as the rest is much more noticeable. I think that you have to be really confident with your whole haiku if you’re going to share it.

What is a haiku?

This is a more difficult question to answer than you might think. First, I will tell you MY interpretation of what a haiku is. It is a poem, the first line of 5 syllables, the second of 7 and the last of 5 again. You’ll hear it referred to as the 5-7-5 structure. For me, that is it.

A lot of people take the original Japanese meaning for haiku, and take it that it cannot be called a haiku unless it is about nature.  I don’t really take that approach. Then there are other syllable combinations, longer ones (not many shorter ones!) and other things to do with topic that specify it even more, but I like just the 5-7-5 structure.

I will go further into this topic on another day – it’s late, I’m tired and emotional and I just want to go to sleep. Ah, the problems of being a teenager! Make it go away…

At least I have my boyfriend to talk to over Skype, who is just so utterly lovely and wonderful and he just makes me smile so much, however much I want to sit there and sulk.

And pay no attention to the German Shepherd with 7 legs bouncing up and down on your toothbrush, he’s more afraid of you than you are of him…

About pasameerday

I haven't got a lot of time to keep you interested, so I'll be quick. I'm a writer from the UK, primarily of fantasy and sci-fi short stories, and occasionally of strange, nonsensical poetry. I like cats, the Sims, and pizza, and I go to sleep to the sound of a keyboard. I've been writing for my entire life; to be honest, I don't think I could ever bring myself to stop. I have a feeling I'm losing you, so I'll bring this to an end before you slowly start to back up, hoping I'll stop talking long enough for you to make a quick getaway. Wait... Where are you going? Hey! Wait! ... Stop!!
This entry was posted in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Give me your Thoughts!

