So Many Different Forms… What are Haiku?!

In continuation with the quite short post yesterday on haiku, I’ve decided to write a few in different forms to test out the different styles!

I’m really interested in looking at some of the longer styles, since I struggle with brevity – I enjoy really long poems with lots of description and imagery. Edgar Allen Poe said that the best poems were around 100 lines long! My favourite poetry certainly is about that long.

It’s always good to try out different forms though, you never know until you try!

 

I’m going to try out some of the different forms, and I’ll leave links before the haiku to a definition of the style and some rules. If I can find them…

http://www.ahapoetry.com/keirule.htm <– This is a really great link which explains a lot about all of the styles that I’m going to use.
http://www.wisegeek.com/what-are-the-different-types-of-haiku.htm <– This is great for an explanation of some of the more obscure styles.

 

Haiku

 

Traditional English – 5-7-5

Dear incautious wind,
My locks are best left unswept
My soul best left sure.

 

American Haiku – 3-5-3

Be so still
Make sure that the birds
Do not listen

 

Tanka – 5-7-5-7-7        Not really as much a form of haiku as a whole other type of poem, but they are closely linked.

I am starved of breath
The miles just keep on rolling
My feet melt with sweat
An unending marathon
But I’ll always carry on

 

I am by no means any good at writing haiku. Traditional Japanese haiku have quite strict rules to do with content – they must be about nature and include juxtaposition, and be made of 2 sections with certain rules.

I am not the type of poet who likes or is very good at following these sort of strict rules and still writing something that I’m really happy with, so I don’t tend to write in the traditional way.

I still enjoy writing poetry that’s this short, but I never feel quite as satisfied with it as I do the free verse. I gave it a go! I really liked the tanka I wrote, actually, and I think I’ll put it up on my AllPoetry account.

 

On that note, if you enjoy writing and reading poetry, http://www.allpoetry.com/ is great. I have an account and I love it! I’m getting more and more and more recognition as the weeks go by. You can have a free, silver or gold account and the levels system makes it so that you have to comment and add poems to get points and level up, it’s really nice for motivation.

Everyone there is incredibly talented, and it’s awesome to share your poetry on. It has a sister site, StoryWrite, for writing stories as well. It’s all lovely and awesome and cool and yay ^_^

 

Hope you enjoyed today’s post, it was quite short but I had a hard time writing the haiku ^_^’ I’m pleased to have informed you about AllPoetry aswell, it’s a great site. Hope you’ve had a great day, and do not pay any attention to the rhinoceros walking on the ceiling, the winds have spoken…

About pasameerday

I haven't got a lot of time to keep you interested, so I'll be quick. I'm a writer from the UK, primarily of fantasy and sci-fi short stories, and occasionally of strange, nonsensical poetry. I like cats, the Sims, and pizza, and I go to sleep to the sound of a keyboard. I've been writing for my entire life; to be honest, I don't think I could ever bring myself to stop. I have a feeling I'm losing you, so I'll bring this to an end before you slowly start to back up, hoping I'll stop talking long enough for you to make a quick getaway. Wait... Where are you going? Hey! Wait! ... Stop!!
This entry was posted in Blog Posts, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Give me your Thoughts!

