Out of Time

If I could chase your spirit down a winding, lonely path,
Protecting you from demons and the Earth’s so brutal wrath,
If I could sail the seas to keep you always in my sight,
If I could be the one that keeps you safe and warm at night,
If I could be loved truly by you and your tender eyes,
Your soft lips and your flowing hair like clouds up in the skies,
If I could take your hand and sincerely you’d take mine,
We could walk the winding path when the planets align,
A kiss from you would make my heart fly high amongst the trees,
If I could talk to you without the trembling in my knees,
As I work myself up and I feel I’m in my prime,
You have gotten off the bus, and I am out of time.Hopefully this poem will find its way to you.
I’ll throw it to the wind and hope to God fate will come through.
And if you just should read it, let me tell you this one thing
I hope I should see you again, despite what life may bring.
As this poem ends and my heart is heavy now
I close my little notebook and I take a solemn bow
The bells at midnight clang and ring and crash and peal and chime
I can’t help but think, what if I’d had just a bit more time?

About pasameerday

I haven't got a lot of time to keep you interested, so I'll be quick. I'm a writer from the UK, primarily of fantasy and sci-fi short stories, and occasionally of strange, nonsensical poetry. I like cats, the Sims, and pizza, and I go to sleep to the sound of a keyboard. I've been writing for my entire life; to be honest, I don't think I could ever bring myself to stop. I have a feeling I'm losing you, so I'll bring this to an end before you slowly start to back up, hoping I'll stop talking long enough for you to make a quick getaway. Wait... Where are you going? Hey! Wait! ... Stop!!
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Out of Time

Give me your Thoughts!

