NaNoWriMo!? What have I gotten myself into…

So.

NaNoWriMo.

 

I am a person who doesn’t finish things.

Apart from a couple of blog posts I haven’t finished anything of over 1000 words in years.

And I have decided to challenge myself to do NaNoWriMo.

What went through my head, I will never know.

 

For those who don’t know, NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month (website: www.nanowrimo.org) and the goal is that over the month of November (which spans 30 days for those who don’t know) you must write the first draft of a novel – 50,000 words at least! In 30 days! And I only decided to do it a few days ago therefore haven’t prepared at all!

 

Yay!

 

I have an idea, and I’m working on a very simple outline just so I have some kind of vague plot to follow as I’m writing – it’s a fantasy novel set in a steampunk-y world artificially created by magic but magic is banned, and a serial killer who is harnessing a new type of evolving magic is killing off young women in the slums. No, this was not at all inspired by the fact that I went to the London Dungeons on Monday… *shifty eyes*

 

I feel bad for not deciding earlier so I would have had longer to plan, but I also think that it’s not really my style to set out a course and follow the lights.

Like, in driving games doing races, I like to go and drive off cliffs to see what’s down there rather than go through the checkpoints, but I’ll get to the end in the end. I’ll usually come last, but that doesn’t matter! Participation is what counts!

 

…Not everything I say is correct, I hope you have figured that out by now.

 

I’d like to know my beginning, my climax and my resolution, just so those points are fixed and I have a goal for which to aim. That’s one of my big problems when writing – I get bored and so do my characters. If I have a goal, hopefully I’ll be able to keep the story moving at a good pace. I have the beginning… So I’m a third of the way through my planning and it’s 2 days until November!

I’m a prepared person!

 

 

I’m really quite excited, despite the tone in the last few paragraphs. I think it’ll be really nice to have a deadline and a challenge and just for me to hone my writing skills and get into writing longer pieces as well.

The longest thing I’ve ever written was 13,000 words and a complete rip off of a series of books that I was reading at the time. (For those who are interested, the books I was reading were called Nightmare Academy and my story was called Dream University… Hm…) But yes, 13,000 isn’t too bad for a 10 year old, but I lost it when I got my new laptop a few years ago. It was written on a Windows 98 machine so I probably wouldn’t have been able to access it nowadays anyway…

 

I’ve always had huge ambition with my story ideas. I love interlinking things and having loads of long complicated interweaving plotlines but I never have actually written these ideas in story form because I have the loudest and most obnoxious internal editor in the entire world.

I hate redrafting – I’m well aware now that it’s a huge part of writing and that I’ll have to get used to it, but normally (especially with poems) I’ll write it and get it out there. This can be really detrimental to my writing and I know that I need to learn to realise that it won’t be perfect first time, but it’s so hard! I want everything to be perfect now! Oh, life!

Also, my internal editor means that I will spend an hour on one sentence making it perfect and realise that I don’t have any time to write the rest of the story, nor am I interested anymore because this one sentence is so drilled into my brain.

So if anyone has any tips on shutting up your internal editor, I’d really appreciate it!

 

Another thing, this means that there will be more tumbleweeds than usual on the blog over November. I don’t like doing every 2 weeks so I am going to change it to once a week because otherwise I’ll miss it!

And it’ll make me write more.

But over November I pretty much won’t be posting at all because my weekends will be the WRITE NOW BECAUSE YOU DID NOTHING IN THE WEEK time.

I’m preparing for my procrastination.

 

Preparation makes me feel like a growed up.

 

 

So, I’ll be writing 50,000 words of a story over 30 days.

This is going to be so fun!

And stressful!

Because I have GCSEs which I need to get a good job and get lots of money in the future!

And school thinks that my life revolves around revising for exams!

And that I don’t have friends or a boyfriend with whom I want to spend time and nurture my relationships!

Yay!

Could you detect the sarcasm?!

 

I hope so.

Because otherwise I’ll have been very contradictory in this post!

 

I just realised that it’s impossible to detect sarcasm in text when lacking context…

You learn something new every day!

I’m quite proud of myself for having noticed that.

 

*Well done, I’ve just realised that you can’t convey tone of voice through a medium which doesn’t involve speech or even sound! I’m so intelligent!*

 

And I shall wrap that up there!

I know that the blog has been a bit all over the place lately, but bear with me! I’m sorting it out so you guys get enough posts and I get enough life! Eventually I’ll have a nice proper system and schedule. Also, I now post on Wednesdays because… Wednesdays.

 

Thank you! Thank you for reading and putting up with me!

I’d love to know if you’re doing NaNoWriMo and how much planning you’ve done! Probably much more than me!

Have a wonderful week and I might see you next Wednesday but I’ll probably be swamped with writing and school things!

Again, thanks!

Bye bye!

About pasameerday

I haven't got a lot of time to keep you interested, so I'll be quick. I'm a writer from the UK, primarily of fantasy and sci-fi short stories, and occasionally of strange, nonsensical poetry. I like cats, the Sims, and pizza, and I go to sleep to the sound of a keyboard. I've been writing for my entire life; to be honest, I don't think I could ever bring myself to stop. I have a feeling I'm losing you, so I'll bring this to an end before you slowly start to back up, hoping I'll stop talking long enough for you to make a quick getaway. Wait... Where are you going? Hey! Wait! ... Stop!!
This entry was posted in Blog Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Give me your Thoughts!

