On the Tube Train

Shadows sat beside him
On the tube train,
Whispering wispy comforts
As he watched his knapsack tremble
In the odd underground breeze.

His mother sat beside him
On the park bench,
Whispering tales of wonder
As he grinned into the skyline
Filled with warmth and wobbly knees.

His father sat beside him
In his first car,
Hissing out teenage spite
As he watched his teenage son
Spiral slowly into hate.

His sister sat beside him
At the table,
Showing off her degree
With sycophantic symphony
Hid his plan beneath his plate.

His girlfriend sat beside him
On his worst night,
Saying ‘he’s better than you’
Shuffling proudly out of sight
Just as it began to rain.

No one sat beside him
In the darkness,
Filled with nervous wracking sobs
As he watched his knapsack tremble
Perched on wobbly knees again.

Worry walked beside him
To the station,
Bubbling masses, clicking shoes,
With the ache not far behind him
As the train started to wheeze.

Shadows sat beside him
On the tube train,
Whispering wispy questions
That he didn’t answer, trembling
In the odd underground breeze.

Author Notes

About pasameerday

I haven't got a lot of time to keep you interested, so I'll be quick. I'm a writer from the UK, primarily of fantasy and sci-fi short stories, and occasionally of strange, nonsensical poetry. I like cats, the Sims, and pizza, and I go to sleep to the sound of a keyboard. I've been writing for my entire life; to be honest, I don't think I could ever bring myself to stop. I have a feeling I'm losing you, so I'll bring this to an end before you slowly start to back up, hoping I'll stop talking long enough for you to make a quick getaway. Wait... Where are you going? Hey! Wait! ... Stop!!
This entry was posted in Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Give me your Thoughts!

