Somewhere in Between

Sometimes the tarmac feels a little rough,

And sometimes life’s a little bit too tough,

But when you feel the glass beneath your shoes,

Remind yourself that you’ve nothing to lose.

 

And in the distance, like a tiny star,

Your journey’s end reminds you where you are,

The ground beneath your feet slipping away,

You think about the place you are today.

 

The sun beats down on soft spots on your head,

Your feet twist out with each unsteady tread,

Your hair becomes a web of life’s debris,

It’s what you sacrifice to become free.

 

And when you reach the city at the end,

When all you’re looking for now is a friend,

You either want to sleep or need caffeine,

But what you find is somewhere in between.

About pasameerday

I haven't got a lot of time to keep you interested, so I'll be quick. I'm a writer from the UK, primarily of fantasy and sci-fi short stories, and occasionally of strange, nonsensical poetry. I like cats, the Sims, and pizza, and I go to sleep to the sound of a keyboard. I've been writing for my entire life; to be honest, I don't think I could ever bring myself to stop. I have a feeling I'm losing you, so I'll bring this to an end before you slowly start to back up, hoping I'll stop talking long enough for you to make a quick getaway. Wait... Where are you going? Hey! Wait! ... Stop!!
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Somewhere in Between

  1. Insight says:

    Still, a lot to explore from here for a wanderer like you! Do well. 🙂

    – Rahul

Give me your Thoughts!

