The Poet’s “I Love You”

A golden bee played background music to her thoughtful sighs,
Her gaze attached to hummingbirds and silky butterflies.
The Poet leant himself against the sunlit, cloudless sky,
And it was then he felt an urge to send her a reply.
He hitched a ride upon a wing and bid the sun goodbye.

The ground that touched his feet was carpeted in emerald green.
The trees surrounded, bending inwards, stately and serene.
Her eyes bejeweled her honest face; the Poet took her hand,
He said “I’ll show you what we see, and then you’ll understand.”
And soon she saw the trueness and the beauty of the land.

He pulled her by her fingertips to sit amongst the wings.
“Today I’ll tell of magic, beauty, all those precious things.
Tonight, I’ll tell of scars that decorate my very soul;
The scars and magic braided shape a love I can’t control,
For love, it fuels our hearts and love, it also takes its toll.”

To tell of magic first he let himself fall through the skies,
She curled herself around him and he stared into her eyes.
The scars that scratched his spirit worked themselves onto his face;
She saw the inner poet as the gashes took their place.
They intertwined their fingers as they sunk through starlit space.

He told her then of beauty in the only way he knew:
The lightest kiss on perfect lips, her cheeks a rosy hue.
The softened, grassy landing sparkled with the morning dew,
And through the vivid silence came the Poet’s “I love you.”

Author Notes

Poem written in direct response to this poem, which was the prompt:

she was alone, all alone
enjoying a calm summer day
when suddenly an innocent question
teased her mind,
“I wonder how a poet feels
When he is madly in love
And how would he seeks
A beloved, who from he couldn’t get enough”
-Julunar

About pasameerday

I haven't got a lot of time to keep you interested, so I'll be quick. I'm a writer from the UK, primarily of fantasy and sci-fi short stories, and occasionally of strange, nonsensical poetry. I like cats, the Sims, and pizza, and I go to sleep to the sound of a keyboard. I've been writing for my entire life; to be honest, I don't think I could ever bring myself to stop. I have a feeling I'm losing you, so I'll bring this to an end before you slowly start to back up, hoping I'll stop talking long enough for you to make a quick getaway. Wait... Where are you going? Hey! Wait! ... Stop!!
This entry was posted in Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Poet’s “I Love You”

  1. lillisamy says:

    The Poet seems like the mythical angel falling from the heavens. Also, your meter and rhyme remind me of the late David Saltzman’s children’s book, “How the Jester Lost his Jingle”. Neat poem.

  2. lanodb says:

    This is a beautiful poem, I love the language and the flow and the wonderful fairytale imagery. You are a delightfully talented writer.

  3. Aishwarya AR says:

    Its like a short story! I would love it if you did a sequel to this; telling how she reacted to the poet’s “I love you”!! Awesome piece!!

Give me your Thoughts!

