To Vivid Night

She woke up to a single glowing sun.
The tightened bounds of sleep became undone.
Her steps that fell towards the Earth were young.
The dew of life so sweet on her dry tongue.

She stumbled into something like a walk,
To write a name in pastel-coloured chalk.
If it was hers, she didn’t know or mind:
It was the only name that she could find.

Her feet had swung themselves into a sprint.
Her eyes had gained a subtle, honest glint.
Excitement lit her throbbing veins in red.
The falls she felt were only in her head.

And knowing she was low she let him in.
Her eyes were dry, her patience wearing thin.
If nothing else, he was a hand to hold,
Until she found that soul gleaming in gold.

She let herself bring others to the fight.
With all her love she pushed them to the light.
She helped them write their names in dusty chalk,
And brought them to their feet to let them walk.

The others slowly left her one by one;
Each loving daughter, then each caring son.
The sunlit sky began to fade to grey;
A twilight in between the night and day.

The sun and skies had watched her spirit drain.
Somehow, she knew she was alone again.
Her wistful, honest eyes were shining bright,
But soon her day would turn to vivid night.

She settled by a single setting sun,
And watched, and smiled until the day was done.
The soul that leapt into the skies was young,
Her last sweet breath now silent on her tongue.

About pasameerday

I haven't got a lot of time to keep you interested, so I'll be quick. I'm a writer from the UK, primarily of fantasy and sci-fi short stories, and occasionally of strange, nonsensical poetry. I like cats, the Sims, and pizza, and I go to sleep to the sound of a keyboard. I've been writing for my entire life; to be honest, I don't think I could ever bring myself to stop. I have a feeling I'm losing you, so I'll bring this to an end before you slowly start to back up, hoping I'll stop talking long enough for you to make a quick getaway. Wait... Where are you going? Hey! Wait! ... Stop!!
This entry was posted in Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to To Vivid Night

  1. Michael56j says:

    Very thought provoking tribute.

  2. kittyz98 says:

    This is such a beautiful poem

Give me your Thoughts!

